Run! Me? couch to 5k

I am not a runner. But I started about 18 months ago. I was lucky that my wife wanted to get fit and so ‘trainers on’ we would set off round the local woodland trails or roads.

One of the strongest positives for running is that you can start outside your front door. And running is a great aerobic exercise that efficiently burns calories.

I found a free on-line training programme and started that and I found summer running was well, fun. You need to plan your week and do the exercise but its not all weary street pounding.

22489590872_0a53b6af58_bThen I put in to run the Fleet 10k and I wobbled round with a great group of folks some of whom did awesome times others struggled but finished with pride radiating from them.

I did a bit more of this running stuff with the ParkrunUK and my wife. Our local one is the great Rushmoor Park Run (0900 every Saturday on the Army polo field in Aldershot) but we have run elsewhere: Salford, Lanhydrock and Darwin, Northern Territory). Everyone has been friendly, encouraging and helpful. A regular event lets you monitor your progress and that of others. We have seen amazing improvements with some folks. And with others we just share the craic!

It took me almost 18 months to join my local running club the awesome Fleet & Crookham Athletic Club and I wish I had done it MUCH earlier.

Unknown-1

F&CAC is friendly, welcoming and good fun. Runners of all standards are welcome and they (or should that be WE?) are running a

“Couch to 5K”beginners running course. Starts 24th May

If you want to try running for fitness, fun or to go further then:

Email C25KFCAC@gmail.com to reserve a place.

You’ll meet great people and you may even recognise me as you run past me. When you do then do “let on”!

F&CAC_Flyer_C25K_V3 copy

Further details here: F&CAC_Flyer_C25K_V3        🙂

See you at the club?

 

 

About Roger Nield MBE

Safety Director for the SMPL Organisation and supporting our Vulnerable Veterans Programme.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Fleet, Fun, Local Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

